London Fire Brigade

Who we are and what we do

Members of the Authority

The 17 Members of the Authority are appointed by the Mayor.

Eight are nominated from the London Assembly, seven from the London boroughs and two are Mayoral appointees.

The information includes members' political parties, their constituency/borough, their responsibilities to the London Fire and Emergency Planning Authority (LFEPA) and contact details.

Senior management team

Current outline and profiles of our directorates and top management structure chart.


The section contains location and contact details for LFEPA, fire stations, Fire safety centres and Fire safety regulation teams. 

Geographical area of operation

London is one of the major cities in the world, covering an area of 1,595 square kilometres.

Over 8.6 million people call it home and another half a million come here to work or visit every weekday.

The Brigade is responsible for providing fire and emergency cover across the Greater London area covering 32 London Boroughs and the City of London.

This information in the in your area section provides key details about our activity in each area together with local fire safety contacts and your local fire safety regulation teams.

Relationship with other authorities

London Fire Brigade is run by LFEPA, which is part of a group of organisations under the 'umbrella' of Mayor of London.

A corporate governance framework for the GLA Group was published in May 2009 setting out their respective roles and responsibilities and the ways in which they do and should relate to each other.

More information can be found in thr corporate governance section and on the GLA website.

Partnership working

We work in partnership with a range of different agencies, including the London boroughs, to help reduce fire, death, injuries and fire related crime.

Borough specific details can be found on the LFB in your borough section.