London Fire Brigade

Mayor announces LFEPA membership

17 June 2010

Mayor of London Boris Johnson has announced the membership of London Fire and Emergency Planning Authority (LFEPA), which runs the London Fire Brigade.

The appointments are based on nominations provided by the London Assembly and London Councils, plus two Mayoral appointments.

Cllr Brian Coleman AM FRSA, who has been reappointed LFEPA Chairman by the Mayor, said: “I will be ensuring that the Authority continues to deliver the first class fire and rescue service that Londoners deserve. But at a time when the public purse is being squeezed we must make sure that we are as efficient as we are effective. Alongside our work to modernise the fire service we will continue to seek alternative and innovative approaches to delivering our services in order to manage the spending reductions that lie ahead.”

The LFEPA appointments are:

Cllr Brian Coleman AM FRSA (as Chairman) - Conservative
Cllr Tony Arbour AM - Conservative
Cllr Gareth Bacon AM – Conservative
Mr Richard Tracey JP AM – Conservative
Cllr Navin Shah AM – Labour
Mr Murad Qureshi AM  - Labour
Mr Mike Tuffrey AM – Liberal Democrat
Cllr Darren Johnson AM – Green

London Borough Representatives:

Cllr Mike Fisher – Conservative
Cllr Susan Hall  - Conservative
Cllr Maurice Heaster OBE – Conservative
Cllr Crada Onuegbu – Labour
Cllr Colin Aherne  - Labour
Cllr Liaquat Ali  - Labour
Cllr Terry Stacy JP – Liberal Democrat

Mayoral Appointments:

Alderman Simon Walsh
Mr David Cartwright