London Fire Brigade

London Fire Brigade staff honoured at annual Special Achievement Awards

02 March 2011

Some of London Fire Brigade’s most dedicated and innovative staff have been recognised in the Brigade’s annual Special Achievement Awards, held at City Hall on Friday 25 February. A total of eight awards were given to the men and women who work for and with London Fire Brigade for their outstanding achievements, ranging from individual acts of bravery and examples of professionalism to commitment to the Brigade and the wider London community.

The awards were presented by London Fire Commissioner Ron Dobson, Chairman of LFEPA Cllr Brian Coleman and Mayor of London Boris Johnson, at a ceremony hosted by ITV London presenter Ben Scotchbrook.

Special Achievement Awards winners with London Fire Commissioner Ron Dobson, Chairman of LFEPA Cllr Brian Coleman and Mayor of London Boris Johnson

Brian Coleman AM, FRSA, Chairman and Leader of the London Fire and Emergency Planning Authority said: “The range of awards demonstrates how the service provided by London Fire Brigade is evolving; with our crews dealing not just with emergencies, but saving lives through innovative projects that help stop emergencies from happening in the first place. I congratulate the award winners for their service to the Authority and the communities across London.”

Mayor of London Boris Johnson also congratulated the winners: "These award winners are a fine example of the breadth of dedication and professionalism within the London Fire Brigade, which helps make London one of the safest big cities in the world."

The following awards were presented at the ceremony:

External Awards

  • Nick Holtzhausen, a member of the public who, thanks to his quick thinking and courage, managed to rescue his neighbour from a flat fire in Wandsworth. 
  • Bromley Borough Arson Sub Group, a team of officers from  the Brigade, Metropolitan Police, Bromley Council and Sutton Housing Association,  who worked together to reduce arson in the Bromley borough by more than 44 per cent, resulting in the arrest of four people.

Team Awards

  • Firefighters from Edmonton and Tottenham fire stations Alex Tilley, James Bruff, Daniel Howden and Keith Fox, for handling an extremely challenging incident under difficult circumstances, involving a distressed woman and unconscious child.
  • The Brigade’s Emergency Planning Team for their tireless efforts in keeping the capital moving during the severe winter weather 2009/10, while dealing with more than 900 priority grit requests across London, including the re-supply of all 69 London Ambulance Service stations.

Individual Awards

  • Mary Clark from the Brigade’s procurement team, for guiding and establishing a structured procurement process which has enabled the Brigade to procure goods, services and property in a more efficient manner. 
  • Battersea firefighter Daniel Towle, for securing the scene and providing first aid to three people injured in a road traffic collision, while off-duty.
  • Philip Evans, from the Brigade’s training and development team, for introducing a new computer based training system, benefiting staff across the Brigade.
  • Poplar firefighter Sim Peroni for providing an opportunity for schoolchildren in Tower Hamlets, one of the areas most at risk from fire in London, to learn about vital community safety messages.