London Fire Brigade

Chief Fire Officers and Commissioners

In the last 150 years, only 19 people have been in charge of the Brigade - previously known as the Metropolitan Fire Brigade. James Braidwood has been included due to his significance in the formation of the fire brigade in London.

Our current Commissioner - a title change that was introduced in late 2001 - is Dany Cotton.

Dany joined London Fire Brigade in 1988 and worked her way through the ranks to become the first female Commissioner in our history in 2017.

If you are having trouble viewing the timeline feature below please click here to view a list alternative of this page.

Sources: Powys-Lybbe Ancestry, In Case of Fire, Montreal Gazette, Grace's Guide, Firemen at War, The Sydney Morning Herald, Beyond The Flames


Share this page


Have you seen